If You Want To Be Happier, Stop Over-Scheduling Your Life

Some of life’s best moments come in the unplanned spaces

Kyra Bussanich
3 min readJul 6, 2022
Photo: Author’s own

Creativity needs space to blossom.

If your mind is constantly whirring or you’re endlessly scrolling, you aren’t giving yourself that space. Just like relaxation doesn’t come on the inhale, when we are drawing air into our lungs, but happens on the exhale when we can let go, inspiration doesn’t usually hit when we are busy or engaged. We need almost to be bored. We need to take a break and have downtime in between paying bills and running from one event to the next, spending time filled with peopling.

Before the pandemic (and before the personal apocalypse that was my 2020), I used socializing the way other people use drugs or alcohol; it was a crutch, a coping mechanism, a way to make it through the dreary days. At the time, I had a beautiful home that I loved, and a business I did not. Add in a husband to who I wanted to feel connected, but who wasn’t able (or perhaps just wasn’t willing?) to put forth any effort into our relationship. I felt adrift, caught in limbo.

When I wasn’t spending 16 hours a day at work, I gave myself a little space to do low-level creative projects (designing T-shirts, making jewelry, and I even tried my hand at painting…

--

--

Kyra Bussanich

Writer, entrepreneur, and dedicated explorer of enchanting moments. She has contributed to Huffington Post, The LA Times, The Boston Globe, Redbook, and more